List of Chief Guests Invited in Indian Republic Day Celebrations

List of Chief Guests Invited in Indian Republic Day Celebrations

Year Guest Name Country
1. 2016 President, Francois Hollande (5th invitation) France
2. 2015 President, Barack Obama (First U.S. President to be invited) USA
3. 2014 Prime Minister, Shinzo Abe Japan
4. 2013 King, Jigme Khesar Namgyel Wangchuck (4th invitation) Bhutan
5. 2012 Prime minister, Yingluck Shinawatra Thailand
6. 2011 President, Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono (2nd invitation) Indonesia
7. 2010 President, Lee Myung Bak Republic of Korea
8. 2009 President, Nursultan Nazarbayev Kazakhstan
9. 2008 President, Nicolas Sarkozy France
10. 2007 President, Vladimir Putin (3rd invitation) Russia
11. 2006 King, Abdullah bin Abdulaziz al-Saud Saudi Arabia
12. 2005 King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
13. 2004 President, Luiz Inacio Lula da Silva Brazil
14. 2003 President, Mohammed Khatami Iran
15. 2002 President, Cassam Uteem (3rd invitation) Mauritius
16. 2001 President, Abdelaziz Bouteflika Algeria
17. 2000 President, Olusegun Obasanjo (2nd invitation) Nigeria
18. 1999 King, Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev (2nd invitation) Nepal
19. 1998 President, Jacques Chirac France
20. 1997 Prime Minister, Basdeo Panday Trinidad and Tobago
21. 1996 President, Dr. Fernando Henrique Cardoso Brazil
22. 1995 President, Nelson Mandela South Africa
23. 1994 Prime Minister, Goh Chok Tong Singapore
24. 1993 Prime Minister, John Major (2nd invitation) United Kingdom
25. 1992 President, Mário Soares Portugal
26. 1991 President, Maumoon Abdul Gayoom Maldives
27. 1990 Prime Minister, Anerood Jugnauth Mauritius
28. 1989 General Secretary, Nguyen Van Linh Vietnam
29. 1988 President, Junius Jayewardene Sri Lanka
30. 1987 President, Alan Garcia Peru
31. 1986 Prime Minister, Andreas Papandreou Greece
32. 1985 President, Raúl Alfonsín Argentina
33. 1984 King, Jigme Singye Wangchuck Bhutan
34. 1983 President, Shehu Shagari Nigeria
35. 1982 King, Juan Carlos I Spain
36. 1981 President, Jose Lopez Portillo Mexico
37. 1980 President, Valéry Giscard d’Estaing France
38. 1979 Prime Minister, Malcolm Fraser Australia
39. 1978 President, Patrick Hillery Ireland
40. 1977 First Secretary, Edward Gierek Poland
41. 1976 Prime Minister, Jacques Chirac France
42. 1975 President, Kenneth Kaunda Zambia
43. 1974 President, Josip Broz Tito (2nd invitation) Yugoslavia
Prime Minister, Sirimavo Ratwatte Dias Bandaranaike Sri Lanka
44. 1973 President, Mobutu Sese Seko Zaire
45. 1972 Prime Minister, Seewoosagur Ramgoolam Mauritius
46. 1971 President, Julius Nyerere Tanzania
47. 1969 Prime Minister, Todor Zhivkov Bulgaria
48. 1968 Prime Minister, Alexei Kosygin (2nd invitation) Soviet Union
President, Josip Broz Tito Yugoslavia
49. 1965 Food and Agriculture Minister, Rana Abdul Hamid (2nd invitation) Pakistan
50. 1963 King, Norodom Sihanouk Cambodia
51. 1961 Queen, Elizabeth II United Kingdom
52. 1960 President, Kliment Voroshilov Soviet Union
53. 1958 Marshall Ye Jianying People’s Republic of China
54. 1955 Governor General, Malik Ghulam Muhammad (First guest for parade at Rajpath) Pakistan
55. 1954 King, Jigme Dorji Wangchuck Bhutan
56. 1950 President, Sukarno Indonesia
57. – 67 1953, 1952 ,1951, 1957, 1956 ,1959, 1962, 1964 , 1967 , 1966, 1970 – No Chief Guests

The Republic Day is celebrated to remember the transition of India into a republic nation and the implementation of the Constitution of India on January 26th, 1950. A grand event is organized in the capital of New Delhi, wherein the President hoists and unfurls the Indian flag, which is followed by a massive parade. India welcomes a different chief guest every year to witness its Republic Day celebrations. The honorable chief guest is the head of state or government of another country. The guest is chosen on the basis of certain factors, be it, strategic, diplomatic, business interest or international geo-politics.

It’s an old tradition at Republic Day Parade to invite a Prime Minister of another country showcasing our culture and traditions. In this year, India welcomes the France President, Francois Hollande, as a chief guest at the 67th Indian Republic Day 2016.



About SHIVA9019


Posted on January 27, 2016, in List of Chief Guests Invited in Indian Republic Day Celebrations, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: