Renamed Indian cities

Renamed Indian cities
1. Chennai, formerly Madras, renamed in 1996
2. Jabalpur, formerly Jubbulpore, renamed in 1947
3. Kanpur, formerly Cawnpore, renamed in 1948
4. Kochi, formerly Cochin, renamed in 1996
5. Kolkata, formerly Calcutta, renamed in 2001
6. Mumbai, formerly Bombay, renamed in 1995
7. Puducherry, formerly Pondicherry, renamed in 2006
8. Thiruvananthapuram, formerly Trivandrum, renamed in 1991
9. Vadodara, formerly Baroda, renamed in 1974
10. Varanasi, formerly Benares
11. Guwahati, formerly Gauhati
12. Indore, formerly Indhur
13. Kozhikode, formerly Calicut
14. Panaji, formerly Panjim
15. Pune, formerly Poona
16. Sagar, formerly Saugor
17. Shimla, formerly Simla
18. Thanjavur, formerly Tanjore
19. Thoothukudi, formerly Tuticorin
20. Thrissur, formerly Trichur
21. Tiruchirapalli,formerly Trichinopoly or its shortened version, Trichy
22. Udhagamandalam,formerly
Ootacamund or its shortened version, Ooty
23. Vijayawada, formerly Bejawada
24. Visakhapatnam, formerly Waltair and before that, Vizagapatnam or its shortened version, Vizag
25. Avantika to Ujjain
26. Vorugallu to Warangal
27. Cambay to Khambhat
28. Bulsar to Valsad
29. Bangalore to Bengaluru (change effective from 1 November 2006)
30. Bhopal Bairagarh to Sant Hirda Ram Nagar, Bhopal
31. Jullunder to Jalandhar
32. Ropar to Rupnagar
33. Mohali to SAS Nagar
34. Nawan Shahar to Shaheed Bhagat Singh Nagar
35. Cape Comorin to Kanyakumari


About SHIVA9019


Posted on September 12, 2014, in Renamed Indian cities and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: